Alabama pastor nominated to serve as CBF Moderator-Elect

May 26, 2015

By Aaron Weaver

DECATUR, Ga. — The Nominating Committee of the Cooperative Baptist Fellowship has selected Alabama pastor Doug Dortch to serve as the Fellowship’s next moderator-elect.
Doug Dortch
Dortch, who serves as senior minister of Mountain Brook Baptist Church in Birmingham, Ala., is a member of the CBF Governing Board. A native Alabamian and graduate of the University of Montevallo in Montevallo, Ala., and Southern Baptist Theological Seminary in Louisville, Ky., where he earned Master of Divinity and Master of Theology degrees as well as Doctor of Philosophy in Christian Preaching.

Dortch has served churches in Kentucky, Florida and Alabama. While serving as pastor of First Baptist Church of Tallahassee, Fla., he served on the Representative Assembly of CBF of Florida and on the CBF Coordinating Council. Dortch is also a member of the Board of Directors of Baptists Today and the Board of Visitors for Mercer University’s McAfee School of Theology in Atlanta, where he delivered the William L. Self Preaching Lectures in 2014.

He is married to the former Judy Mims of Clanton, Ala., and they have two children: Corrie, an English teacher in Beaufort, S.C., and John, a resident physician in General Surgery at the Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville, Fla. They have one grandson, JD.

Dortch said he is honored to serve as moderator-elect and excited to work with CBF Executive Coordinator Suzii Paynter as the Fellowship celebrates its 25th anniversary next summer.

“I have been a part of CBF life from its inception, so I am privileged to have been nominated to this place of service for an organization that I believe represents the best of our Christian witness as Baptists,” Dortch said. “As CBF marks its 25th anniversary and moves into the next chapter of our story, I am enthusiastic over what we stand to accomplish together because of the many vibrant and capable leaders I see emerging from our midst. Most importantly, we are tremendously blessed with having Suzii Paynter’s direction at this time, and I look forward to working with so many others in fulfilling her vision so that our movement’s best days lie ahead of us.”

The Nominating Committee, chaired by Valerie Burton, minister of Christian formation at Baptist Church of the Covenant in Birmingham, Ala., also announced additional nominees to serve on CBF’s Governing Board, Missions Council and Ministries Council. The committee’s nominees will be presented for approval at the CBF General Assembly in Dallas, Texas, on June 19.

Matt Cook, pastor of First Baptist Church in Wilmington, N.C., and current moderator-elect, will assume the role of moderator at the conclusion of the General Assembly. CBF Moderator Kasey Jones, senior pastor of National Baptist Memorial Church in Washington, D.C., will transition to the role of past moderator and serve as an ex-officio member of the Nominating Committee in 2015-2016.

At the General Assembly in Dallas, the Governing Board will bring forward for approval recommendations of individuals to serve on the Nominating Committee and on the boards of the CBF Foundation and CBF Church Benefits. The Governing Board has also recommended Katie Sciba, a medical social worker in Stafford, Texas, to serve alongside CBF officers in the position of recorder.

CBF Moderator Kasey Jones offered her thanks to the Nominating Committee and Governing Board for their nominations and recommendations.

“As a former member of the 2012 Task Force, it is wonderful to see the unanimously received recommendations lived out,” Jones said. “There are more people participating in very meaningful ways. The collaborative work taking place has increased the culture of cooperation in CBF life. I am excited about the new class of nominees and the role they will play as we continue to form together in renewing God’s world.”

The complete slate of nominees to be submitted for approval at the upcoming General Assembly are listed below:



  • Moderator-ElectDoug Dortch, Senior Minister, Mountain Brook Baptist Church, Birmingham, Ala.
  • Nominating Committee Chair-ElectBruce Gourley, Executive Director, The Baptist History & Heritage Society, Manhattan, Mont.

Governing Board

  • Jane Lyons, CEO, Whole Woman Conference, Inc., Clarksville, Va.
  • Shauw Chin Capps, Executive Director, Hope Haven of the Lowcountry: Children’s Advocacy and Rape Crisis Center, Beaufort, S.C.
  • Brent Beasley, Senior Pastor, Broadway Baptist Church, Fort Worth, Texas
  • David King, Karen Lake Buttrey Director, Lake Institute on Faith and Giving and Assistant Professor of Philanthropic Studies, Indiana University Lilly Family School of Philanthropy, Indianapolis, Ind.

Missions Council

  • David W. Hull, Southeast Coordinator, Center for Healthy Churches and Adjunct Professor at McAfee School of Theology, Watkinsville, Ga.
  • Courtney E. Allen, Minister of Community Ministry and Missions, First Baptist Church, Dalton, Ga.
  • Jackie Baugh Moore, Vice President, Eula Mae and John Baugh Foundation, San Antonio, Texas
  • Mark Wingfield, Associate Pastor, Wilshire Baptist Church, Dallas, Texas

Ministries Council

  • Carrie Bearden, Laity, Educator (retired), Louisville, Ky.
  • Bobby Rayburn, Minister of Spiritual Formation, Broadmoor Baptist Church, Baton Rouge, La.
  • Randy Hyde, Senior Pastor, Pulaski Heights Baptist Church, Little Rock, Ark.
  • Cindy Wallace, Hospice Chaplain Supervisor, Alexian Brothers Hospice, Hanover Park, Ill.
  • Ann Cronic, Minister of Music, Central Baptist Church, Newnan, Ga.
  • Kat Spangler, Associate Minister, University Baptist Church, Hattiesburg, Miss.
  • Christina Perkins, Associate Pastor, University Baptist, Baltimore, Md.
  • Paul Soley, Vice President, Real Estate Services, Dwellworks Property Advisors, Wilton, Conn.



  • Recorder — Katie Sciba, Medical Social Worker, AARN Health Services, Stafford, Texas

Nominating Committee

  • Christopher Mack, Minister of Young Adults, Trinity Baptist Church, San Antonio, Texas
  • Jenny Howell, PhD Candidate, Adjunct Faculty in Religion Department, Baylor University, Waco, Texas
  • Michael Massar, Co-Pastor, University Baptist Church, Baton Rouge, La.
  • Greg Warner, Journalist (retired), Jacksonville, Fla.
  • Raymond Johnson, Retired, Norcross, Ga.

CBF Foundation

  • Hal Bass, Professor of Political Science, Arkadelphia, Ark.
  • Pat Ayers, Ranching, Business and Investment Professional, Austin, Texas
  • AG Bullard, Financial and Investment Management Professional, Raleigh, N.C.
  • Os Chrisman, Judge and Attorney, Dallas, Texas
  • George Cowden, Attorney, San Antonio, Texas

CBF Church Benefits

  • Bob Patterson, Pastor, First Baptist Church, Warm Springs, Ga. 
  • Jim Martin, Retired Administrator, Providence, N.C. 


CBF is a Christian Network that helps people put their faith to practice through ministry eff­orts, global missions and a broad community of support.The Fellowship’s mission is to serve Christians and churches as they discover and fulfill their God-given mission.

3 thoughts on “Alabama pastor nominated to serve as CBF Moderator-Elect

  1. Pingback: » Alabama pastor nominated to serve as CBF Moderator-Elect | CBFblog

  2. Pingback: Jones shares testimony of Fellowship forming together, moving forward during Friday business session | CBFblog

  3. Pingback: Cooperation and ethic of love are keys to CBF’s future, incoming CBF Moderator says | CBFblog

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s